Grammar Lesson 4: Expressing Contrast (Unexpected Result)


Hello viewers. I hope you do well wherever you are. In this post I provide another grammar lesson along with other grammar lessons on the subject of Adverb Clauses.

In this lesson I give you more examples to rehearse and memorize each grammar part.

EXPRESSING CONTRAST (UNEXPECTED RESULT): USING EVEN THOUGH
(a)    Because the weather was cold, I didn’t go swimming.
(b)   Even though the weather was cold, I went swimming.
(c)    Because I wasn’t tired, I didn’t go to bed.
(d)   Even though I wasn’t tired, I went to bed.
Because is used to express expected results.
Even though is used to express unexpected results.

Even though means despite the fact that and is a more emphatic version of though and although.

Note: Like Because, even though introduces an adverb clause.
    Even though he’s 86, he has excellent health
    Even though she hasn’t really got the time, she still offered to help
    Even though he lost his job as Arts Minister, he continued to serve in the government.
About Fazel

My name is Fazel and I am a software engineer.
This entry was posted in Grammar, Lessons and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Grammar Lesson 4: Expressing Contrast (Unexpected Result)

  1. Megha Mishra says:

    1. Even though the weather was rain, I went to the office.
    2. Even though she had very headache, she went for interview.
    3. Even though the weather was warm, we went to trip.
    4. Even though he lost his job, he had been the self-control.
    5. Even though Mohan had pain in his leg, he continued working.
    6. Even though she got the deaf baby, she still be loved it.
    When you check up my sentences, you will change them to send me.

Leave a Reply

